Mr. Mystery Man

Okayyyyy I am finally ready to post about Mr. Mystery Man. I have decided to call him Mr. Fuzzy because he gives me the warm and fuzzies (I know, vomit, but just roll with it).

Mr. Fuzzy and I have been talking for about 4 months. From the start, he has put in a lot of effort to involve me in his life. He lives in a different province but calls me daily, tells me about his day and asks me about mine. He has put a lot of time and energy into getting to know me. I do feel quite involved in his life and we communicate all the time. He’s mature and understanding and sometimes when I am being a little bratty or unreasonable, he knows how to snap me out of it. He’s funny and quirky. He respects my job and gives me space to work when I need it and isn’t constantly harassing me, asking what I am doing but is present enough that I know he thinks about me.

He has talked about coming to visit me for a few months now. I am used to guys being “all talk, no action” so a part of me never really believed he would come. Even though he comes across as very sweet and genuine – he’s still a guy. (Or maybe I am just super cynical).

It’s my birthday in two weeks (yay Leo season!). Mr. Fuzzy brought it up a couple of weeks ago and said he had planned to surprise me by flying down for my birthday weekend but then rethought that idea and decided to talk to me first instead of just booking a trip here. He realized I probably have things planned and he didn’t know if I would be comfortable including him in those plans. I told him it wasn’t necessary for him to fly across the country for my birthday but he said “I am serious about you and I like you. How can I not be there for your birthday?” We talked and I ultimately decided another weekend might be better. This will be the first time we are meeting so he would have to meet everyone in my life and that’s a lot of pressure on him and us.

Yesterday, Mr. Fuzzy calls me and asks what I am doing the weekend of August 12th. I looked at my calendar and tell him I don’t have anything going on. A few minutes later, he sends me his flight confirmation for August 12-14. He said he had looked up a few things to do and would handle making reservations for dinner but I could plan out whatever I wanted to show him during the day.

We got off the phone and I panicked. Not because I’m not excited to see him but I was genuinely not expecting him to come here. He is flying across the country to hang out with me for 3 days for my birthday. That is so incredibly sweet. Now I am freaking out about the itinerary – I want to make sure he has fun and we see all the highlights without it being too hectic. I also feel (a self imposed) pressure for everything to go perfectly. Which is completely ridiculous. We obviously talk all the time and are comfortable with each other but I guess I just don’t want the weekend to turn out terribly and everything end up feeling like it was a waste of time.

I’m also just nervous – I feel like this is a big step for me. I know for a fact that he isn’t flying here to have sex. He has been a gentleman and rarely brings it up. We will be out of the city for at least one night that he is here and he mentioned that if it would make me more comfortable, we could get separate rooms or a room with two beds. I genuinely and sincerely believe he is coming just for me, which is such a terrifying thought.

Anyways, I will obviously fill you all in about the events of the weekend. I am nervous and excited but also hopeful. He has been great so far and I guess we will see after his trip if things can move forward between us. Could Mr. Fuzzy actually be my Mr. Right??!?

2 thoughts on “Mr. Mystery Man

Leave a Reply

